VIU Aerial View

What Do I Do Before Returning Equipment?

Before you return your device to IT, there may be some additional steps to ensure your data has been removed and the device is ready for the next person to use.

For details on how to pick up or drop off equipment, see: Where do I pick up or drop off equipment?

When you return your iOS Device (iPad or iPhone) to the IT department, you need to remove your information as well as any screen lock passwords. This must be done in order for it to be repaired, replaced or repurposed.

Step 1: Back up your data

 Note: The IT Service Desk staff do not save or transfer the data stored on any phones, it is your responsibility to ensure you back up any data, contacts, music and pictures you wish to save.

For more information on how to back up your data, see How to back up your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch.

Step 2: Sign out of iCloud

Go into Settings, iCloud and tap Sign Out
iOS Sign out of iCloud

Step 3: Disable "Find My iPhone"

You also need to check the setting for Find My iPhone, turn this off if it is currently in use.

From your Home screen, tap Settings > iCloud (enter your Apple ID if prompted)
Scroll to the bottom and tap Find My iPhone

Disable Find My iPhone

Step 4: Erase your Phone

You are now ready to erase your phone. In Settings tap General and then Tap Reset. Then tap Erase All Contents and Settings.

Erase iOS Device

This will remove your iCloud lock on the device and remove all of your personal data. The iPad or iPhone can now be repaired or returned to be repurposed.

When you return your iOS Device (iPad or iPhone) to the IT department, you need to remove your information as well as any screen lock passwords. This must be done in order for it to be repaired, replaced or repurposed.

Step 1: Back up your data

 Note: The IT Service Desk staff do not save or transfer the data stored on any phones, it is your responsibility to ensure you back up any data, contacts, music and pictures you wish to save.

For more information on how to back up your data, see Back up or restore data on your Android device

Step 2: Erase your phone

After you back up, you can reset your phone by erasing everything on it. Learn how to reset your phone to factory settings.

Move any important data that you have saved locally to your U drive. For more information, see How Do I Use My U Drive?

Who can use this service?

Employee