VIU Aerial View

How Do I Use OneDrive?

What is OneDrive?

OneDrive allows you to access, share, and collaborate on all your files from anywhere.

What are the advantages?

  • 5 TB of cloud storage
  • Real-time collaboration with colleagues
  • Access from anywhere

Who is VIU OneDrive available to?

VIU OneDrive is available to all active employees with a computer account.

How do I access VIU OneDrive?

  • Log in to the Microsoft 365 portal at https://office.com using your VIU email address and VIU computer account password
  • Choose "OneDrive"

For instructions on accessing your VIU OneDrive on Windows, see: Sync files with OneDrive in Windows

For instructions on accessing your VIU OneDrive on macOS, see: Sync files with OneDrive on macOS

For instructions on accessing your VIU OneDrive on your mobile device, see:

Help Resources

Here are some folders on your computer that may contain files you'll want to transfer to your VIU OneDrive

  • Documents
  • Pictures
  • Videos
  • Desktop
  • Other locations on the C drive

Watch the video below for a tutorial on how to set up your OneDrive and transfer your work files.


Once your files are copied to OneDrive, they will start syncing to the cloud.

  •  Blue arrows beside your files mean that the file is still in the process of syncing to the cloud
  •  Green check marks beside your files mean that the file has fully synced to the cloud

 Important note: A file that is transferred to your OneDrive will not be available on other computers until it has a green check mark. If you have many large files, this process may take several hours.

For more information, see Move your files to OneDrive

How to Manage Shared Files and Folders

Sharing Options

When sharing a file or folder you are presented with the following options:

  • Anyone with the link gives access to anyone who receives this link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else. This may include people outside of VIU. This is considered an “Open Link”.
  • People in VIU with the link gives access to anyone with a VIU account who has the link access to the file, whether they receive it from you or if it's forwarded from someone else.
  • People with existing access creates a link for anyone who already have access to the file or folder. It does not change the permissions. Use this if you just want to send a link to somebody who already has access.
  • Specific people gives access only to the people you specify (internal or external users), although other people may already have access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link.

Deleted items are held in the "Recycle Bin" folder and purged after 30 days. Unlike your U drive or share drives, there are no recovery options afterwards.

For more information, see Restore Deleted Files or Folders

VIU OneDrive data for employees is stored in Canada.

For more information, see Microsoft 365 Data Residency

Students may opt to use OneDrive at their own risk but should be warned:
  • OneDrive for students is currently unsupported by IT.
  • Students are not part of the main VIU Microsoft 365 tenant. VIU does not manage the stumail tenant and has no access to data stored in it.
  • OneDrive data for students is currently stored in the United States.
  • Data could disappear and they should keep a backup.

Who can use this service?

Employee